

# Letter to the Prime Minister and Opposition Leader to ban gambling ads

The below individuals support the letter to the Prime Minister, Anthony Albanese, and the Opposition Leader, Peter Dutton published by the Alliance for Gambling Reform on 13 August 2024 calling for a complete ban on gambling ads as proposed by the 2023 Murphy Report.

- 1. **Hon John Howard OM AC SSI** Former prime minister of Australia
- 2. **Hon Malcolm Turnbull AC**Former prime minister of Australia
- 3. **Lucy Turnbull AO** *Businesswoman and Philanthropist*
- 4. **Rosie Batty AO**Family Violence Prevention Advocate
- 5. **Hon Steve Bracks AC**Former Victorian premier
- 6. **Hon Jeff Kennett AC** *Former Victorian premier*
- 7. **Stephen Hill OAM**Founder, Globe International
- 8. **Robert Tickner AO**Former Federal ALP minister
- 9. **Hon Dominic Perrottet**Former NSW premier
- 10. **Easton Wood** *Former AFL champion*
- 11. **Mark Morey** *Secretary, Unions NSW*
- 12. **Luke Hilakari**Secretary, Victorian Trades Hall Council

## 13. Edwina MacDonald

Acting CEO, Australian Council of Social Services (ACOSS)

#### 14. Reverend Kanishka Raffel

Anglican Archbishop of Sydney

#### 15. Father Frank Brennan

Adjunct Professor and Jesuit Priest

#### 16. Emeritus Professor Mike Daube AO

Health Sciences, Curtin University

## 17. Terry Slevin

CEO, Public Health Association of Australia

#### 18. Dr Zac Seidler

Clinical Psychologist, Global Director, Movember

#### 19. Rachel Ball

CEO, Reichstein Foundation

# 20. Denis Moriarty AM

Founder & Group Managing Director, Our Community

#### 21. Andrew McKenzie

Chair, John T Reid Charitable Trusts

### 22. Gideon Haigh

Self-unemployed Journalist

### 23. Rebekha Sharkie

Independent Federal MP

#### 24. Andrew Wilkie

Independent Federal MP

#### 25. Zoe Daniel

Independent Federal MP

## 26. Senator David Pocock

Independent Federal Senator, ACT

#### 27. Kate Chaney

Independent Federal MP

# 28. Dr Monique Ryan

Independent Federal MP

# 29. Kylea Tink

Independent Federal MP

# 30. Allegra Spender

Independent Federal MP

#### 31. Dai Le MP

Independent Federal MP

#### 32. Dr Helen Haines

Independent Federal MP

# 33. Zali Steggall OAM

Independent Federal MP

## 34. Dr Sophie Scamps MP

Independent Federal MP

# 35. Senator Sarah Hanson-Young

Greens Federal Senator, SA

#### 36. Senator Lidia Thorpe

Independent Federal Senator, Victoria

## 37. Lt Colonel. Major Greg Morgan

Secretary for Mission, The Salvation Army Australia

#### 38. Stu Cameron

CEO and Superintendent, Wesley Mission

#### 39. Mark Gaetani

President, St Vincent de Paul Society

#### 40. Simon Miller

CEO, Anglicare Sydney

### 41. Professor Samantha Thomas

Public Health, Deakin University

# 42. Professor Simone Pettigrew

Director of Health Promotion, The George Institute for Global Health

## 43. Associate Professor Charles Livingstone

Public Health and Preventative Medicine, Monash University

#### 44. Associate Professor Gemma Crawford

Curtin University, Immediate Past President and Life Member Australian Health Promotion Assoc.

# 45. Dr Jonathan Hallett

Lead researcher, gambling and young people, Curtin University

## 46. Dr Beau Jayde Cubillo

First Nations Senior Research Fellow, Menzies School of Health Research

#### 47. Dr John Crozier AM

Chair, National Trauma Committee, Royal Australian College of Surgeons

#### 48. Dr Domenique Meyrick

co-CEO Financial Counselling Australia

#### 49. Caterina Giorgi

CEO, Foundation for Alcohol Research and Education

# 50. Nieves Murray

CEO, Suicide Prevention Australia

# 51. Carly Dober

Psychologist, Director, Australian Association of Psychologists

#### 52. Nick Tebbey

EO, Relationships Australia

## 53. Greg Aldridge OAM

CEO, EveryMan Australia

# 54. Micaela Drieberg

CEO, Gender Equity Victoria

#### 55. Jess Hill

Journalist and Author of See What You Made Me Do

#### 56. Kellie Friend

CEO, Toora Women

#### 57. Anna Bardsley

Co-Founder, Gambling Harm Lived Experience Experts (GHLEE)

#### 58. Dr Devin Bowles

CEO, ACT Council of Social Service (ACTCOSS)

#### 59. Cara Varian

CEO, NSW Council of Social Service (NCOSS)

#### 60. Sally Sievers

CEO, Northern Territory Council of Social Service (NTCOSS)

# 61. Aimee McVeigh

CEO, Queensland Council of Social Service (QCOSS)

# 62. Ross Womersley

CEO, South Australian Council of Social Service (SACOSS)

#### 63. Louise Giolitto

CEO, West Australian Council of Social Service (WACOSS)

## 64. Ellen Sandell MP

Leader of the Greens, Victoria

#### 65. Samantha Ratnam MP

Greens, Victoria

# 66. Katherine Copsey MP

Greens, Victoria

#### 67. Gabrielle de Vietri MP

Greens, Victoria

#### 68. Sam Hibbins MP

Greens, Victoria

#### 69. Sarah Mansfield MP

Greens, Victoria

# 70. Aiv Puglielli MP

Greens, Victoria

#### 71. Tim Read MP

Greens, Victoria

# 72. Georgie Purcell MP

Animal Justice Party, Victoria

### 73. David Ettershank MP

Legalise Cannabis Party, Victoria

# 74. Rachel Payne MP

Legalise Cannabis Party, Victoria